Volkswagen Jetta Junkies banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks, I've seen various post but no results from a search.


I bought a 2000 Jetta with the 2.0 115 hp engine, auto. Seller's mechanic says it needs ECU. I've seen videos, not too hard...BUT will a swap work or do I have to get it reprogrammed?. Towing to a "stealer" is out of the question.


Anyone know for sure?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
13,679 Posts
if you get an ECU that has been immobilizer defeat it will be a direct swap, if not you will need to get it towed to a "stealer" and have it programmed properly, also if you get the immobilizer defeated in the ECU you will forever have the immobilizer light on without it actually kicking in
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
In theory you need to find a 2.0 Jetta from 2000 with exactly the same options as the one that you have right now in order for you to make it work then you can take it to a specialist and avoid the parts and just pay the labor price

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies! That brings up two more guestions; If I get an used ECU with the same part number and I still have no start, is there a way to tell the unit is OK but the immobilizer is preventing start? Also, are there any DIY friendly folks out there I could send an ECU to and have the immobilizer turned off...at a reasonable price?


cheers


Rich
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
920 Posts
With the immobilizer, when you attempt to start it once, it will run for about a second,
then shut down. Wish.com has the immobilizer defeat programmers, and odometer
correction tools, just don't know which one you need... I think they can bypass the
immo, or you can update it your key works.

https://www.wish.com/c/544eec5690c7767732d01530

One of these may also work:
http://www.ebay.com/bhp/vag-immo-emulator

Other than that, it's off to the the stealership...
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
13,679 Posts
With the immobilizer, when you attempt to start it once, it will run for about a second,
then shut down. Wish.com has the immobilizer defeat programmers, and odometer
correction tools, just don't know which one you need... I think they can bypass the
immo, or you can update it your key works.

https://www.wish.com/c/544eec5690c7767732d01530

One of these may also work:
http://www.ebay.com/bhp/vag-immo-emulator

Other than that, it's off to the dealership...
fixed it for you
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks again folks. I ordered one of those cheap emulators on eBay. I'll be surprised if that works. Another question; If I get an ECU from another vehicle, How does it know it's in a different car? Is there something else I can remove from the donor vehicle and install in my car to make the ECU feel at home?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
920 Posts
It doesn't really KNOW it is in a different car, it just has the VIN and IMMO data from the car it was in.
The IMMO won't recognize your key, and maybe the radio, and if your car has modules the other one
did not, it probably won't use them. There are plenty of ways to get this done, and thanks to eBay
and Wish, it won't cost a fortune. I will be getting VCDS 15 soon, and will be selling my V14 as
soon as I get it. First, I am just going to see about getting the V15 software before paying the $35
for the disc and cable...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
920 Posts
It doesn't really KNOW it is in a different car, it just has the VIN and IMMO data from the car it was in.
The IMMO won't recognize your key, and maybe the radio, and if your car has modules the other one
did not, it probably won't use them. There are plenty of ways to get this done, and thanks to eBay
and Wish, it won't cost a fortune. I will be getting VCDS 15 soon, and will be selling my V14 as
soon as I get it. First, I am just going to see about getting the V15 software before paying the $35
for the disc and cable...
That actually worked, I found the China version 15.7.1 on line, installed it, and seems to work just fine.
Both V14 and V15 run. Now I just need to get MPPS to work, since the Galetto did not...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks PsPA, (are you in PA?)


Forgive me if I'm being a pest, but I'm interested and try to learn what I can;


I know the key has a chip with coded information. The car has electronics that can read these codes from the key, and share's the codes with the ECU to make sure the information matches what is stored in the ECU. (correct?) If not the immobilizer is activated. So, if I install an ECU from a donor car AND have a coded key from the donor car, I could start my car with it's non chipped key plus have the chipped key from the donor on the same key ring? (my car has an aftermarket radio). Over (simplified?)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
920 Posts
Yes, I am in PA.

You would also need the ignition cylinder from the donor car, for that key's cut.

or

If it's a flip key fob, you can put your key into the flip box, so you have your key cut
with the other immobilizer. There are videos on how to take them apart and swap the
key only.

The chip in the key fob s powered at the lock cylinder inductively. The battery is just for
the buttons on the fob.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,170 Posts
You would also need the instrument cluster as well. To make this as easy as possible, just plug and play. You'll need all 3 to think the system is in the same vehicle.

ECU, Instrument cluster, and Key/Ignition switch.

DIY for the ignition switch
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
So, I ended up buying an OBD to USB cable and software from OBD Innovations. (Bought on Wish, thanks for the link PowerslavePA). After ALLOT of trying I finally got my computer to establish a link. (I think the software was older). I also found one of the K wires is shorted to ground. Don't know what it goes to but after I cut it, I was even able to read trouble codes from my cheap OBD2 scanner. Anyway, the software didn't show any function to turn off the immobilizer. Maybe that could be done by re-programming the EPROM, but I didn't want to go there. What I did was read the immobilizer code, then re-programmed one of the keys to that code. Viola! The car starts and runs.


Done lots of mechanical work on cars, but this was my first plunge into ECUs, etc. Time consuming but a good learning experience.


Thanks for the help folks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
ok, sorry for not starting a new thread and going off on this one. so i have a jetta 2000, i lost the key and bought a used ignition switch that came with the key. is there a way to program the key to my jetta? i tried using the vag login, its a small red machine, but it did not even read the code off my car and said the operation was unsuccesful. also got the drive box, but also, it did not seem to make a difference. do i need a brand new key for it to work?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Hi Folks, I've seen various post but no results from a search.


I bought a 2000 Jetta with the 2.0 115 hp engine, auto. Seller's mechanic says it needs ECU. I've seen videos, not too hard...BUT will a swap work or do I have to get it reprogrammed?. Towing to a "stealer" is out of the question.


Anyone know for sure?
I just did this last night on my mk4. Assuming u have vcds ,most 2000 and below mk4s came with immobilizer version2. If you need help figuring out which version you have feel free to ask and ill point u in right direction. Head to pick n pull and grab
an ecm from same year, 98-99.5/ 2000. Plug it in..connect to vcds. make sure battery voltage is at least 12.5dcv
[Select]
[17 - Instruments]
[Adaption - 10]
Leave channel at "00"
[Read]
[Save]
[Done, Go Back]
[Close Controller, Go Back - 06]
[Exit]
Turn ignition OFF for 15 seconds. Start vehicle.
done..hope this helps
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top