Volkswagen Jetta Junkies banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm not yet an owner of any VW vehicles but I am currently considering a 2003 Jetta GLI, Manual. Let me immediately confess to you all that, YES, I am here to humbly beg for your expertise. Let me explain why.
As I note in my profile, I am not a car expert but I do take great interest in my cars. I have had a few in the past and I always end up learning as much as I possibly can about them and usually their lineages too. Historically this has happened after I acquired each car because I have never had the freedom to shop and browse when it came time to get a new car. This time is a bit different in that respect. And so my experience brings me here, because I know the forums contain a wealth of knowledge and honesty that simply cannot be matched anywhere else. Here is where the real experts reside. And so if you would like to contribute, I greatly appreciate it. And if not, let this thread peacefully fade away with the rest of the forgotten souls like the Baha Men, Cuba Gooding Jr. and the E.T. Atari video game.

Here is my situation:
I was recently hit while driving, rolled my suv down the highway, and totaled my car. I now have the money and a rental for the time being, so I'm shopping around. To be clear, I'm not necessarily looking for a car to last me the next 10 years. Next February my fianceé and I will be moving to Europe for 2-3 years. What I need is a car that will last me till then, at which point I expect I will likely sell it (but depending on how much I like whatever car I get, I may leave it with a friend/relative to maintain).