Volkswagen Jetta Junkies banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Gearchirper here, im new to the forum. So i have this jetta that's not being a team player. I am a mechanic and love to share advice good and bad. But mostly good. Ive changed just about everything in this 2.0 engine but have this god awful misfire. I know what your thinking. this noob has no clue. here is a list of what was changed:

1- New head (assembled) w/ new head studs
1- Head gasket (installed w/ correct torque)
1- timing belt
1- water pump
4- spark plugs (NGK)
1- set of plug wires
1- new ignition module (coil pack)
1- new coolant temp sensor
1- new crank position sensor
1- new camshaft position sensor
2- new oxygen sensors
1- new California rated catalyst (converter)
1- new fuel pump (correct pressure output)
1- new knock sensor
1- new battery
4- new fuel injectors (correct flow rate)
- checks good on compression (all cylinders)
- checked timing 4 times (on point)
- fresh fuel in tank and in lines
- good spark and fuel delivery

you can say im at my witts end on this project and i am starting to think the ecm went bad from the get go. Hell, all the parts thrown at it probably would have paid for a correct fix at the dealer...lol. maybe a new ECM with reflash? relearn procedure? thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
13,679 Posts
is it a single-cylinder misfire? or is it multiple cylinders? is it a dead miss? have you pulled any codes? if so do you have any freeze frame data?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
is it a single-cylinder misfire? or is it multiple cylinders? is it a dead miss? have you pulled any codes? if so do you have any freeze frame data?