Volkswagen Jetta Junkies banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I have a 2005 GLI (1.8t), with the stock BBS RC's, stock suspension, etc. I'm pretty new to the whole wheel fitment world, so bear with me...

I am looking to get some wheel spacers to make things a little more flush with the fender, maybe even just a tiny bit of poke.

If I were to go with spacers, do you think I will run into a problem with rubbing? I think I will be safe for the most part, but if there is a sudden heavy dip in the road, it may pose a problem when the suspension compresses. An easy solution to rubbing would be to roll the fender, but I would rather not do that.

I know, I know..."You need to lower your car!!!!"
But that isn't really an option. I live in NW PA, where potholes are a thing. I've driven lowered cars all my life, and I'm just not willing to do that to this one. I'd like to keep things as "daily driven" as possible.

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
920 Posts
With stock tires, you should be okay. That would be like, the wheel turned
to the left or right and hitting a big dip, and the tire hitting the fender,
it doesn't... You'll need longer lugs with spacers. DO not go too big
with spacers, it throws off the camber, you'll ride the inside of the
tire with too big a spacer. Have you ever looked at jeeps and cars with
the wheels pushed too far out, and the tires lean /---o---\ = too thick a
spacer...

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
With stock tires, you should be okay. That would be like, the wheel turned
to the left or right and hitting a big dip, and the tire hitting the fender,
it doesn't... You'll need longer lugs with spacers. DO not go too big
with spacers, it throws off the camber, you'll ride the inside of the
tire with too big a spacer. Have you ever looked at jeeps and cars with
the wheels pushed too far out, and the tires lean /---o---\ = too thick a
spacer...